Wazir (2016)

 

Wazir

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Genre: Mystery, action, crime, drama and romance          

Cast: Farhan Akhtar, Amitabh Bachchan, Aditi Rao Hydari, Jhon Abraham, Neil Nittin Mukesh, Nasir Khan and Anjum Sharma

Director: Bejoy Nambiar

Writer: Vidhu Vinod Chopra

 

I know that the review is delayed by five days, but better late than never, right?

The movie starts with an interesting twist in the story. All seems engaging, right from Daanish’s (Farhan Akhtar) encounter with a traumatic incident to Pandit Ji (Amitabh Bachchan) and Daanish being friends and playing chess (ALL THE TIME!, you’ll figure out why, if and when you watch the movie) to the final climax of the film. UNTIL the realization dawns upon the viewers that Wazir’s (Neil Nitin Mukesh) physical role was quite pointless and could have been avoided. The story line could, most definitely, have been made stronger.

Apart from NNM, it was rather surprising to see Jhon Abrham as S.P. Surprising because I don’t remember the last movie I saw of his, did he even exist in 2015?

However, except for slightly better acting skills (maybe because he got a few more minutes extra on screen in comparison to NNM) his role in the movie was not as pointless but could have been performed by any other actor. In my opinion, Randeep Hooda or Sonu Sood, would have fit the role better.

The gorgeous Aditi Rai Hydari hasn’t done many movies, but she did an exceptionally great job in this one. I don’t consider myself worthy, yet, of commenting on Amitabh Bachchan’s or Farhan Akhtar’s acting skills, nonetheless, both played their roles all too well, but that’s not new to us!

Unlike most songs in present times, Wazir has no dhinchak item number or tumainteriyobandaxblzm (I mean, PunEnglish rap). My personal favourites are Tere Bin and Atrangi Yaari.

On a scale of ‘meh’ to ‘OMG! I’m so coming back for this’, Wazir is a “I didn’t waste my money”. It was a pretty great one-time watch, won’t really mind watching it on TV a couple of times, either.

2 thoughts on “Wazir (2016)

  1. I’m a little confused about what this movie is actually about. I feel like I now know that the movie had some elements of a generically watchable movie, but I have no idea if I would personally like to watch it. The first paragraph was a little hard to follow, particularly your usage of the word “until” in what seems to be a half finished sentence, as well as the statement that the “movie begins with a twist”. Twists are generally plot points that change a story in the middle or end; its difficult to change something that has not yet developed. Basically, I just would have liked this review to tell more about the plot (not everything of course, I understand you were being vague in order to avoid spoilers), and maybe something about the tone of the movie or the directing style in order to help me decide weather I would enjoy it. Anyway, thanks for the info. I look forward to your next post!

    Like

    1. Hi Willow! Alright so, basically, the movie begins with Farhan Akhtar’s life going from perfect to a living hell within the first 10 min of the movie (that’s what baits the viewers into the movie) and the story continues from there. The ‘UNTIL’ was to describe more of viewers’ reaction when they realize that Neil Nitin Mukesh’s physical appearance could have been avoided. With respect to what I just said, the direction was pretty good over all but there are a few particular scenes that could have been directed better, for instance Amitabh Bachchan was crippled and he lost his wife and daughter both in different accidents, that (in my opinion) is a bit too much of mellow drama for one character. It reminded me of that scene in the movie Om Shanti Om where they make Shahrukh Khan crippled, blind and dumb. There are a few intriguing scenes that make the movie worth watching and then there are others which you would feel like were not necessary, but I guess they couldn’t have made the movie shorter than 1hr 40 min. It is a good one time watch, I do recommend that you go for it.

      Like

Leave a Reply

