xXx: Return of Xander Cage

Caste: Vin Diesel, Ruby Rose, Donnie Yen, Deepika Padukone, Rory McCann, Kris Wu, Yony Jaa, Nina Dobrev, Samuel L. Jackson, Ice Cube, Toni Collette and Neymar

Director: D.J. Caruso

Writer: Written by F. Scotts Frazier on the basis of the characters created by Rich Wilkes

I’m going to keep this review short and crisp, mostly because there isn’t much that I want to say.

This was my first experience with watching a movie in 4DX and as much as I enjoyed the experience, I can’t deny that I expected more, out the movie and the theatre effects but since the latter was not the fault of the movie or its producers, let’s focus on the movie.

If I am to rate the movie on the basis of its action, I will give it a ten-on-ten. Unfortunately, I can’t say the same for the storyline.

It was a cliché narration of an undercover superhero, fighting the evil higher authorities with a team of skilled professionals. The movie had a predictable script and many mainstream punch- lines, which lacked punches.

Nonetheless, the action had me on the edge of my seat, a couple of times.

In all honesty, my favorite part about the movie was Ruby Rose, whose performance and character I found interesting. It brought in an essence of freshness to the screen.

Being an Indian myself, of course I was looking forward to Deepika Padukone’s debut into Hollywood, but I was disheartened at how much more stronger she could have played her character in comparison to her performance in the movie. I also felt as if she put in unnecessary effort into having a fake Indian accent, which took the limelight away from her core character features.

 

I spent a couple of few 50s on the movie, that I believe it didn’t quiet deserve, but it was, nonetheless, an experience in its own.

 

I would give this movie Three “xXxs” out of 5.

Leave a Reply

