Baahubali 2: The Conclusion (Tamil/Hindi and Malyalam)

Genre: Fantasy, Action and Drama

Cast: Prabhas (I have a crush on him), Rana Daggubati (I have also had a crush on him since 2011), Anushka Shetty, Ramya Krishnan, Nassar, Satyaraj, Tamannaah Bhatia and Subbaraju.

Director: S. S. Rayamouli

Writers: Mankombu Gopalakrishnan, Madhan Karky, C.H. Vijay Kumar, Manoj Muntashir, Vijayendra Prasad and S.S. Rajamouli.

Producers:  Prasad Devineni, K. Raghavendra Rao, Shobu Yarlagadda

I’m late by two day according to Indian standards and by three days according to the UAE standards, but now I FINALLY know the answer to “Kattappa ne Baahubali ko kiyon mara?” (Why did Kattappa kill Baahubali?) and so I’m going to review the movie, irrespective.

What a amazing job by Rayamouli, I’m a fan!

Watch Trailer: Baahubali 2 – The Conclusion | Official Trailer (Hindi)

Don’t worry I won’t be spoiling it for you. Although, I’m pretty sure that social media has already proved to be a bane in this case. To all those who stumbled across spoilers, I understand your pain as I, too, fell pray to the same.

The other thing I’m sure about it that I’m heading back to the theatre to watch it again, and I just got out of the cinema hardly an hour ago.

Now coming to the actual review. Not that a movie that managed to keep over millions of its fans, from all across India and other parts of the world, curious about one question, needs any reviewing. Also, the fact that the movie minted ₹212.6 crore (US$33 million/ AED 212.4 million) on its first day, is a review in itself. Need I mention, it beat every Indian cinema’s record in terms of public response; Northern, Southern, Eastern and Western Indian cinema included. It even beat the record of Kabli, which starred Rajnikanth, an actor who is considered nothing short of a God and has his own temples in parts of southern India.

Now, generally, if I was made to watch a movie that was super heavy on VFX, I’d probably have hated every bit of it, like I did Mohenjo Daro but there is something about Baahubali 2: The Conclusion that kept me at the edge of my seat through out. The story, the acting, the climax, the action and the animation, all of it just seems to fit. Sure, I have seen better quality of VFX but probably not in an Indian movie and when it was used in abundance as it has been used in the Baahubali saga. The work on graphics is, by all means, phenomenal. I salute every graphic designer and animator who was involved. The cinematography of the movie is quiet similar to that of the first one but it was great, nonetheless. Hats off to Senthil Kumar.

READ ALSO: Mohenjo Daro (Hindi)

On the acting front, there is not a single actor or actress in the movie that I would replace with someone else. Along with Prabhas, who plays both: Amarendra Baahubali and Mahendra Baahubali (the father and the son), the role of Kattappa played by Sathyaraj, Devasena played by Anushka Shetty and Sivagami played by Ramya Krishnan, were performed in a commendable manner. Rana Daggubati’s (Bhallaladeva) and Nassar’s (Bijjaladeva) characters, though evil, were portrayed in a strong, cunning manner with the necessary qualities of a villain’s role which they brought forward effortlessly across the screen. While, there is a lot in the movie that would generally not make sense in a normal, modern-day cinema production, I have to admit there was something oddly pleasing about having to watch a handsome hunk such as Rana play an intelligent, strong, bad guy. The concept of an unappealing fool for a villain is so overrated.

In terms of story and scripting, many dialogues in the movie affect you on a spiritual level and evoke emotions, even the dubbed version, a milestone that not a lot of movies are capable of achieving. I also feel like the story line of the sequel is comparatively more gripping than the first, but then again the first was what kept us so intrigued all this while.

What I find extraordinary about the movie is that they based an entire second squeal on flashback. Usually, it so happens that the movies start with a back-story and then continue forward or have flashbacks within its first release. A later-story (my own term, I think) followed by a sequel of flashback is pretty rare, at least in the Indian cinema. Perhaps, that’s what sparked curiosity amongst that fans, maybe, that’s what had us all bolting towards cinemas even before the movie was released.

Might I add, I watched the entire Baahubali saga dubbed in Hindi and we’re all familiar with the poor quality of any kind of dubbed movie, but this one is a different case all together. Even dubbing could not rip the charm out of Baahubali. The only dissatisfactory elements in the movie were the songs. I do hope that it wasn’t the same case with the original Tamil tracks. Some of the background music is quite energising, I must add, I think i’m going to add the tracks to my workout playlist.

If I had to tell you my experience in one line, I would say that I sat in the theatre for three hours and, somehow, even that didn’t suffice. I just wanted to keep watching the movie.

I have lived in Dubai for more than a decade and believe it when I say this, I have never seen viewers; full fledged adults watching a dubbed movie, clap and hoot repeatedly (the way it happens in the movies) to celebrate certain scenes of the film, as I did today.

Kudos to the entire production and direction team of Baahubali 2: The Conclusion. I will not be degrading the movie by trying to rate it. This one is too precious of an art to be put a number on. It is one of my sincerest wishes that the Indian entertainment industry learn a lesson or two from Baahubali and Baahubali 2: The Conclusion.

It would be unfair to leave out the names of those without whom the saga would probably have not been as successful the art directors, animators, graphic designers and such, but for that I’ll have to copy the list from IMBD and I think that’s plagiarism.

 

Leave a Reply

